TIA Team

Chris Roberts

Chief Executive

DDI: +64 4 495 0816

Email: chris.roberts@tia.org.nz

 

Chris joined TIA as Chief Executive in July 2014. Previously he was a General Manager at Tourism New Zealand, with responsibility for government and stakeholder relations.  

Chris studied politics and history at University and his first career was as a radio journalist.

Sally Attfield

Hotel Sector Manager

DDI: 04 495 0814

Mobile: 021 993 656

Email: sally.attfield@tia.org.nz

 

Having worked in the logistics industry in both NZ and offshore in senior roles for 20 years, Sally was tempted back to New Zealand to work on Rugby World Cup 2011.

Alex Bass

Business Services Manager

Mobile: 022 131 0779

Email: alex.bass@tia.org.nz

 

Alex is responsible for the finance, IT and membership teams of TIA, managing the commercial partner portfolio and supporting the frontline TIA teams in the delivery of services to members.

Bruce Bassett

Industry Strategy Manager

DDI: 04 499 8631

Mobile: 021 609 674

Email: bruce.bassett@tia.org.nz

 

Bruce joined the TIA advocacy team in July 2015. He is responsible for providing thought leadership to assist TIA in identifying future trends and the responses required from the tourism industry.

Emily Byrne

Director of Marketing, Partnerships and Events

DDI: 04 494 1841

Mobile: 021 954 012

Email: emily.byrne@tia.org.nz

 

Emily heads our events team, ensuring the successful delivery of TIA’s events portfolio, including the annual TRENZ, New Zealand Tourism Awards, Discussing Tourism and Tourism Summit Aotearoa.

Adrienne Delahunty

Membership Administrator

DDI: 04 496 4889

Email: adrienne.delahunty@tia.org.nz

 

Adrienne is a key part of our membership team. She is the person for members to get in touch with about changes to contact details, new cardholders, help with login updates to member listings on the TIA website and requests to be included in TIA email distribution lists.

Trina Edwards

Events & Marketing Specialist

DDI: 04 495 0819

Email: trina.edwards@tia.org.nz

 

Trina Edwards joined the TIA events team in October 2017 focusing on TRENZ, in particular international Buyers. An events professional with a career spanning the creative sectors and social enterprises, this is Trina’s first venture into the tourism industry.

Steve Hanrahan

Advocacy Manager

DDI: 04 494 1849

Mobile: 027 912 2624

Email: steve.hanrahan@tia.org.nz

 

As Advocacy Manager, Steve ensures TIA members’ views are heard loud and clear. This includes talking and meeting with members and organisations whose work impacts on tourism, such as the Department of Conservation and the New Zealand Transport Agency.

Ann-Marie Johnson

Communications Manager

Mobile: 0276 004 565

Email: ann-marie.johnson@tia.org.nz

 

Ann-Marie’s job is all about communicating TIA’s work to members and promoting the economic and social value of the visitor industry to the wider public through working with media, TIA newsletters, website, magazine and other tools.

Karen Lahood

Advocacy Advisor

Mobile: 027 902 6593

Email: karen.lahood@tia.org.nz

Karen joined the TIA team in February 2018 – initially as an Events Specialist planning and delivering some of the key TIA events, but then moved within the business to a project role as Advocacy Advisor.

Shelley Lancaster

Assistant Accountant

DDI: 04 494 1843

Email: shelley.lancaster@tia.org.nz

 

Figures are Shelley’s forte. She manages TIA’s accounts, and those of several smaller associations whose books TIA looks after. Shelley describes her work history as “varied”, starting as a lab technician, before moving into stock-broking and PA work, including seven years with Tourism NZ.

Jan Lang

Office Administrator

DDI: 04 496 4894

Email: jan.lang@tia.org.nz

 

As TIA's Office Administrator, Jan provides admin support to ensure the efficient operation of the office. She supports managers and staff through a variety of organisational and communications-related tasks.

Sam MacKinnon

Policy Analyst

Mobile: 021 026 72441

Email: sam.mackinnon@tia.org.nz

Sam is responsible for developing TIA’s submissions in response to the wide range of government proposals impacting the tourism industry and TIA members. He is passionate about New Zealand’s place in the world and supporting members through sharing their view in TIA’s advocacy work.

Rachael Moore

Industry Advocate

Mobile: 021 0225 2497

Email: rachael.moore@tia.org.nz

As TIA's Industry Advocate, Rachael ensures our members’ views are heard loud and clear, talking and meeting with members and organisations whose work impacts on tourism such as the Department of Conservation and WorkSafe NZ.

Katrina Nicol

Events & Marketing Coordinator

DDI: 04 499 0104

Email: katrina.nicol@tia.org.nz

After working in the fashion industry and looking after her family for many years, Katrina changed direction several years ago and moved into the events sector. She joined TIA in 2017 as Events & Marketing Coordinator, supporting the very busy Events team.

Lynn Robinson

Tourism Sustainability Advocate

Email: lynn.robinson@tia.org.nz

 

Lynn started in her new role in mid-June 2018, promoting the New Zealand Tourism Sustainability Commitment and helping businesses achieve their 14 Business Commitments.

Tania Rook

Events Specialist

DDI: 04 499 0104

Email: tania.rook@tia.org.nz

Tania Rook joined the TIA team in August as Events and Marketing Specialist and will be looking after the TIA events programme, including New Zealand Tourism Awards, Tourism Summit and Discussing Tourism. Tania joined TIA from the Institute of Directors where she was a Senior Marketer.

Cath Tate

Operations and Membership Manager

DDI: 04 495 0816

Email: Cath.Tate@tia.org.nz

 

With a passion for New Zealand, Cath is excited to play a key role in supporting New Zealand's vibrant tourism industry. As TIA's Operations and Membership Manager, Cath's role is both full and varied.

Brooke Tomoana

IT Specialist

DDI: 04 496 5000

Email: brooke.tomoana@tia.org.nz

 

Brooke joined TIA in September 2017 as our IT Specialist, supporting the team in ensuring all our technology related platforms are implemented, operate efficiently and are fit for purpose.

Ellen Walden

Events & Marketing Specialist

DDI: 04 496 4892

Email: ellen.walden@tia.org.nz

 

Ellen joined the TIA Events team in July 2017 and will play a key role in delivering TRENZ, the annual international business to business tourism event.

Cheryl Whitfield

Senior Communications Advisor

Mobile: 020 4091 2827

Email: cheryl.whitfield@tia.org.nz

Cheryl’s role as Senior Communications Advisor is to support TIA with all things communications – from media releases, newsletters and websites to proofreading, event comms and beyond.

Megan Williams

Tourism Sustainability Advocate

Mobile: 027 229 1607

Email: megan.williams@tia.org.nz

 

Megan started in her new role in mid-June 2018, promoting the New Zealand Tourism Sustainability Commitment and helping businesses achieve the 14 Business Commitments. Megan’s career has largely involved tourism and conservation.